Tags

, , ,

It all started with this amazing marinated feta cheese I got on sale at Whole Foods. It’s really out of this world delicious! I’m slightly obsessed. I had been eating it straight from the container smothered on toasted pita bread, which was heavenly, but I was eager to incorporate into a real meal.

So I decided I would stuff the feta cheese into turkey burgers and serve it with an arugula salad with roasted red peppers and homemade yogurt dressing. And a sweet potato on the side just because.

I imagined that the cheese would get all melty on inside, and there would be this flavor explosion in the middle of the burger. Not so much. The cheese kinda disappeared in the burger after it was cooked. We ended up just spreading it on top afterwards. Oh well…it was still tasty!

the amazing marinated feta

As you can sort of see in the background, Chip put his turkey burger on an everything bagel, which he said was really good. In case you haven’t heard, Chip is training for a marathon, and so he has been trying to add more calories to his meals to fuel his runs. When I told Chip that I wanted to start this blog, he looked at me like I was crazy for a second, but then he lit up when he realized that this could be another medium for him to talk about his marathon training. So expect a post from him soon about that :).

Anyway, this dinner was pretty easy to put together, and we were very pleased with the end result!

Turkey Burgers with Marinated Feta (makes 4 burgers)

  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • marinated feta cheese
Mix everything together, except the cheese, and form 4 patties. I put some feta in the middle of each burger, but like I said, this didn’t really turn out as I imagined. I would recommend just putting the cheese on top at the end. We cooked them on medium high in a non-stick skillet, but if you have a grill, that is probably better.

[Side Note: Now I know I called this post “dinner for two,” and the recipe makes 4 burgers. That’s because you each get a burger for dinner and a burger to take to school or work the next day for lunch. Yay leftovers!]

Yogurt Dressing

  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • squirt of Dijon mustard
  • salt, pepper, oregano, and thyme to taste
Just mix everything together! Super easy and healthy. This was perfect drizzled on our arugula and roasted red pepper salad.

 

