One of my favorite blogs recently did a post on non-obvious things that she was thankful for. I thought this was a great idea because while I am extraordinarily thankful for my wonderful family, friends, etc., you probably already know that (I hope!).

So here is a more random list of things I am currently feeling thankful for this Thanksgiving:

I’m thankful that I live in the South, so I can enjoy 70 degree weather in November. I would not survive in the North!

I’m thankful to be in a graduate program that challenges me daily and makes me excited about my future.

I’m also thankful for coffee (and other caffeinated beverages) that allow me to survive grad school.

I’m thankful for my past running injuries and how they have taught me to take better care of my body. I’ve learned how to listen to my body and how to know when push myself and when to rest. And I’m really thankful that I am not injured now!

I’m thankful that I’m marrying someone tall enough that I can wear high heels whenever I want without it looking awkward.

Katie Holmes and Tom Cruise? Not as lucky...

I’m thankful for AAA and the many times they have recused me from car trouble, including this morning when Elizabeth and I had a tire blow out on the way back from the half marathon, and they arrived 10 minutes after I called them to change a tire for us on Thanksgiving morning. Thank you AAA for your prompt and friendly service so that I may get through life without ever having to learn how to change a tire.

I’m thankful for chocolate. Duh.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!!

